Welcome.

One Love Blog.

Aug 29, 2012

My name is Audrey, and I’m a woman who loves life. I’m a wife, step-mom, daughter, sister, entrepreneur by heart, writer, yogini and yoga teacher. My vision is to create meaningful change in our world one baby step at a time. I realize that starts with me and how I show up in life. Giving back to others and building community is my true North. It’s how I desire my yoga to manifest. Every cell of my being is tugged and pulled to support the girls and women in this world. That’s why I’ve started this blog: to take one small step in expressing my voice while helping others find theirs.

Service Matters: The Seva Challenge.

In 2009, I felt this calling to build community through yoga when I attended a yoga leadership intensive with Off The Mat Into the World (OTM). As a grassroots organization, OTM inspires yogis to get involved with what speaks to their hearts. Each year OTM supports a global cause through fundraising. To-date, OTM has raised approximately $500k annually for four separate global causes. This year, OTM is raising funds for organizations putting an end to human trafficking in India, the birthplace of yoga and a hot bed for sex slavery. There are over 176 participants from around the world that have committed to the Seva Challenge and as a community we have raised approximately $250,000 as of June. Seva, the Sanskrit word for “service”, is what we aim to do.

We are supporting nonprofits that rescue, re-educate and empower girls who have been trafficked and enslaved in brothels. I personally have committed to raising $20k by the end of the year. To help me on my journey, I’ve teamed up with another yogini, my entrepreneurial partner Belinda Pearl, to create One Love Encinitas, an aspiring community of yoga teachers, holistic practitioners and conscious activists. Together we aim to raise $40k. We’re truly inspired by the support and kindness we’ve received thus far.

Three million girls and young women are tricked or forced into the sex-trade industry. As my dear friend Heather Snyder states in her article in Elephant Journal, human trafficking is a hidden industry and the reality of it is probably far greater than we know. At a staggering $32 billion, the black market industry of human trafficking is hard to pin down and make transparent, much as the $100 billion-plus black market drug trade is. Human trafficking is an issue in India, and it also happens in the United States—including North County, San Diego, beloved home of One Love Encinitas.

Please Join Us.

None of us can escape the issue of human trafficking, which is global and local. As such, it affects all of us consciously. The great news is that by working together, we can improve the lives of girls and women everywhere. So what am I asking you to do? I invite you to join us in any way you can: spread the word, donate, host events to raise money, volunteer or collaborate in anyway sustainable for you—we’re open to ideas. How would you like to be involved? Please let us know—we’re looking forward to making a difference with you.

Please be sure to follow us on One Love Encinitas Facebook!

Leave a Reply

